The International Cricket Council (ICC) on Monday unveiled the Men's T20I team of the year for 2023, with India's Suryakumar Yadav named as captain of the side. Royals batter Yashasvi Jaiswal also features in this elite list, alongside two other Indians Arshdeep Singh and Ravi Bishnoi. 

Yashasvi had a brilliant start to the year with his career-best IPL season with Rajasthan Royals, where he struck over 600 runs and also scored his maiden IPL century. From there, he went on to make a stunning Test debut against the West Indies, registering his first-ever international hundred for India. That form was then replicated in the shortest format of the game. Jaiswal made his T20I debut against the West Indies in August and quickly made a mark.

Despite a challenging start in his first match, the southpaw bounced back with an unbeaten 84 off 51 balls in Florida. He then showcased his talent at the Asian Games, where he scored a rapid century (100 runs from 49 balls) against Nepal, helping India progress to the semi-final stage, and eventually win the gold medal. The Royals opener continued his form against Australia, scoring a swift 53 from just 25 balls in their T20I series towards the end of the year. He capped off his impressive run with a 60-run innings from 41 balls against South Africa in Johannesburg. With his aggressive strokeplay and attacking mindset, Jaiswal continues to solidify his position as India's newfound opener ahead of the T20 World Cup in June this year.

ICC Men's T20I Team of the Year 2023: Suryakumar Yadav (captain), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Phil Salt, Nicholas Pooran, Mark Chapman, Sikandar Raza, Alpesh Ramjani, Mark Adair, Ravi Bishnoi, Richard Ngarava, Arshdeep Singh.