Keshav Maharaj and Nandre Burger will be part of the South Africa cricket team that will tour the West Indies in August.

The Rajasthan Royals duo are a part of the 16-member squad that will play two Test matches at Trinidad and Guyana, respectively. 

The first Test is scheduled to start on August 7 at the Queen’s Park Oval in Port of Spain whereas the final Test will be played at Providence Stadium from August 15.

Nandre Burger, who made his Test debut against India in December last year, will be part of a four-pronged pace attack spearheaded by Kagiso Rabada and includes Lungi Ngidi and Gerald Coetzee.

Burger was the joint-highest wicket-taker for South Africa, alongside Rabada, in his debut series against India. The left-arm pacer picked up 11 wickets from two Test matches at an impressive average of 14.00 and a strike rate of 20.54.

Meanwhile, the experienced Maharaj, who has played 50 Test matches for the Proteas will spearhead the team’s spin armoury. The left-arm spinner has a tally of 158 wickets at an average of 31.99 and a strike rate of 60.6. Dane Piedt is the second spinner in the side.

Temba Bavuma will captain the South Africa side with Matthew Breetzke getting a maiden call-up to the Test side. Aiden Markram and Tristan Stubbs, who were part of the South African team that made it to the finals of the recently concluded T20 World Cup, are the other batters in the side.

South Africa will also play three T20Is against the West Indies later in August, the team of which is yet to be announced.


South Africa squad for 2024 West Indies Tests

South Africa cricket team: Temba Bavuma (c), David Bedingham, Matthew Breetzke, Nandre Burger, Gerald Coetzee, Tony de Zorzi, Keshav Maharaj, Aiden Markram, Wiaan Mulder, Lungi Ngidi, Dane Paterson, Dane Piedt, Kagiso Rabada, Tristan Stubbs, Ryan Rickelton, Kyle Verreynne