Official broadcasters Star Sports on Friday unveiled the schedule for the ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2024. India, who were crowned the inaugural champions, will kick start their campaign on June 5 against Ireland. The tournament will be co-hosted by the USA and the West Indies and will begin on June 1, with the final slated for June 29 in Barbados. A total of 3 venues in the USA and 6 grounds in the Caribbean are set to host the matches.

Perhaps the most anticipated clash will take place on June 9, when arch-rivals India and Pakistan lock horns at Eisenhower Park in New York. Both teams are part of Group A, which also features Ireland, Canada and the USA.



The Groups

Group A: India, Pakistan, Ireland, Canada, USA

Group B: England, Australia, Namibia, Scotland, Oman

Group C: New Zealand, West Indies, Afghanistan, Uganda, Papua New Guinea

Group D: South Africa, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Netherlands, Nepal



The Format

This year's T20 World Cup sees the return of the Super Eight stage and 3 teams who are set to make their T20 World Cup debut - Canada, USA and Uganda. A total of 20 teams have been divided into 4 groups of 5 teams each. The top 2 teams from each group will proceed to qualify for Super Eight, where the remaining teams will be split into 2 groups of 4 teams each. The top 2 teams from both these groups will qualify for the semi-finals, ultimately paving the way for the two finalists who will bring the curtains down on the mega tournament.

Who are the defending champions?

England go into the tournament as current T20 champions. In the 2022 final, the Jos Buttler-led side defeated Pakistan in the final to get their hands on the trophy.