Rovman Powell will continue as captain of the West Indies cricket team for the upcoming ICC T20 World Cup 2024 to be jointly hosted by West Indies and the United States of America next month. 

Shimron Hetmyer, another Rajasthan Royals batter, is also part of the 15-member World Cup squad announced by the West Indies Cricket Board on Friday.

Powell has played 71 T20Is for the West Indies scoring 1312 runs at an average of 26.24 and a healthy strike rate of 144.81. He also has five wickets from his occasional medium pace. 

Powell took over as the West Indies captain in T20Is, after the team’s challenging run in the 2022 T20 World Cup. The Windies did not qualify for the main event as they finished last in the group after the first round.

The 30-year-old Powell was signed by the Royals before IPL 2024 and played crucial cameos in two of the team’s successful run-chases this season, scoring runs at an astonishing strike rate of 193.93.

Meanwhile, Hetmyer is in his third season with the Royals in the IPL having signed for them before IPL 2022. He has a brilliant strike rate of 184.44 and averages 27.66 this season with the bat for the Royals, helping them seal crucial ties.

For the West Indies, the left-handed batter has played 57 T20Is scoring 902 runs at an average of 20.50.

Apart from Powell and Hetmyer, the West Indies side is replete with big hitters like Andre Russell, Nicholas Pooran and Romario Shepherd. Jason Holder and Roston Chase are the all-rounders in the side along with Russell and Shepherd.

Shamar Joseph and Alzarri Joseph will handle the pace bowling responsibilities with spinners Akeal Hosein and Gudakesh Motie also in the mix.

The two-time champions will start their T20 World Cup campaign against Papua New Guinea on June 2 at the Providence Stadium in Guyana. 

West Indies, who last won the T20 World Cup in 2016, are placed in Group C alongside New Zealand, Afghanistan, Uganda and Papua New Guinea.


West Indies T20 World Cup 2024 squad


West Indies cricket team: Rovman Powell (c), Alzarri Joseph, Johnson Charles, Roston Chase, Shimron Hetmyer, Jason Holder, Shai Hope, Akeal Hosein, Shamar Joseph, Brandon King, Gudakesh Motie, Nicholas Pooran, Andre Russell, Sherfane Rutherford, Romario Shepherd