The 2023 Deodhar Trophy, India's premier List A competition, kicked off on July 24 at Puducherry with the Central Zone, North Zone, North East Zone, West Zone and South Zone all in action on Day 1. As many as 16 ODIs will be played over the next few days among the six teams, and the tournament is set to conclude on August 3.

Three Royals players have been named in their respective zonal squads, with Devdutt Padikkal coming in for South Zone, Sandeep Sharma representing North Zone and Riyan Parag named in the East Zone side. Riyan, who recently played a key role in India A's road to the ACC Emerging Teams Asia Cup final, will join the squad for the next leg of the 50-over tournament, having missed the opening match for his team.