07 May 2008 - Dr. DY Patil Stadium, Mumbai : Rajasthan Royals’ winning streak was finally put to an end by the Mumbai Indians at DY Patil Stadium, Mumbai. Bowled out for a just 103, the Rajasthan Royals never seemed in the hunt as the Mumbai Indians reached their target in the 16th over with 7 wickets to spare.


Rajasthan Royals, put in to bat first, lost the wickets of Smith and Pathan – their in-form batsmen, early in the match. Local lad Asnodkar, continued his good run with the bat along with Watson. Rajasthan Royals were looking to set a big target as the duo propelled the score to 72 in the eight over. After that, wickets kept falling in heap – the trend started by Bravo with the dismissal of Watson. The batting collapsed in the middle order as the other batsmen failed to reach double-figures. Mumbai Indians read the conditions well on a bowler friendly wicket and a mix of slower-, short-, length- and cutter-deliveries lead to the Rajasthan Royals’ downfall.


The Mumbai Indians got off to a steady start as Jayasuriya and keeper Takawale added 41 for the first wicket. Warne then got Takawale off his first delivery. Bravo followed soon after but by then the stage was set for Uthappa and Abhishek Nayar to complete the win for the Mumbai Indians.


Rajasthan Royals recorded their second defeat of the tournament and are now at the second spot of the league standings.


Comments are closed.