India continued their dominant form by going 1-0 up in the five-match ODI series against Australia after winning the first ODI by 26 runs (D/L method) in Chennai, credit to a flamboyant all-round performance by Hardik Pandya and Mahendra Singh Dhoni's anchoring knock.

Winning the toss and electing to bat first, the home team were in trouble at 11/3 following Coulter-Nile's fiery spell which saw Ajinkya Rahane, Manish Padney and skipper Virat Kohli return back to the pavilion early in the innings. Rohit Sharma (28) and Kedar Jadhav (40) tried to rebuild the innings with their 53-run partnership before falling to Marcus Stoinis leaving India limping at 87/5. The Indian innings now depended on the experience of the former skipper MS Dhoni and all-rounder Hardik Pandya.

The duo weathered the storm with some resilient batting before Pandya let loose to take the attack to the opposition. The duo put a gritty 118-run sixth-wicket partnership to script a brilliant recovery act. While Pandya scored a career-best knock of 83 in 66 balls, MS Dhoni scored his 100th international half-century. Following Pandya's dismissal, Dhoni (79) took over the reins to blast some vital runs in the last five overs as he added 72 runs with Bhuvneshwar Kumar (32*), to propel India to 281/7 in 50 overs.

Intermittent rain showers during the break played spoilsport as Australia were set a revised target of 164 off 21 overs via the Duckworth-Lewis method. While revised target was more in favour of Australia, Bumrah (1/25) and Pandya (2/28) ripped through Aussie top order, to put Australia on the back foot. Wrist spinners Kuldeep Yadav (2/33) and Yuzvendra Chahal (3/30) then ran through the middle and lower order as India won the match comfortably by 26 runs. For Australia, Glenn Maxwell made a quick-fire 39 off 18 balls while James Faulkner remained unbeaten on 32 off 25 deliveries.

Hardik Pandya's career-best knock along with the crucial wickets of Aussie skipper Steven Smith and Travis Head earned him the man of the match honours. The two teams now head to Kolkata's iconic Eden Gardens for the second ODI later this week.

In other cricket news, the West Indies beat England beat England by 21 runs in the single Twenty20 international at the Chester-le-Street, Durham.

Winning the toss and elected to bat first, openers Chris Gayle (40) and Lewis (51) got West Indies off to a flying start putting on 77 for the first wicket. Gayle's 21-ball innings, featuring three fours and four sixes, saw the Jamaican become the first batsman to complete a century of sixes in T20Is. Following Gayle's runout, Lewis went on to score a 26-ball fifty as West Indies reached 106/1 and looked on target for a 200+ total. However, the Windies innings lost momentum as Liam Plunkett (3/27) struck thrice in two overs to send Lewis, Marlon Samuels (10) and Kieron Pollard (6) back to the pavilion. Late contributions from Rovman Powell (28) and Ashley Nurse (13*) saw the Windies reach 176/9 in the 20 overs.

Chasing 177 for victory, England got off to a bad start losing Jason Roy for nought. But a blistering knock of 43 from 17 balls by Alex Hales saw England back on track in the match. However, following Alex Hales' dismissal England lost three quick wickets that derailed their momentum. Spinners Sunil Narine (2/15) and Ashley Nurse (1/23) kept things tight and Kesrick Williams (3/35) further dampened the hopes as the home side were bowled out for 155 runs. Narine was awarded the player of the match for his splendid bowling that strangled the England middle order. England and West Indies now begin a five-match one-day international series in Manchester.

Elsewhere Pakistan won the Independence Cup after beating World XI by 33 runs in the third and final T20I in Lahore. Powered by blistering knocks from Ahmed Shehzad and Babar Azam (48), the hosts compiled a total of 183/4 in 20 overs. Later, the Pakistan bowlers ripped through World XI's top and middle order to reduce them to 67/5. Hassan Ali did most of the damage for Pakistan by returning with the figures of 2/28, while Imad Wasim, Usman Khan and Rumman Raees chipped in with a wicket each.


Comments are closed.