Following India's emphatic victory in the first T20I, the Aussies pulled one back, claiming a comprehensive eight wicket victory over the hosts in the second T20I in Guwahati. The victory also saw the visitors end their seven-game losing streak in T20Is against India.
Aussie skipper David Warner won the toss and elected to bowl first on a damp wicket which could provide assist the bowlers. As predicted, the pitch did come into play and the hosts were on the backfoot as Jason Behrendorff picked up the wickets of Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli in the first over. Behrendorff continued his dominance on the pitch as he sent back Manish Pandey and Shikhar Dhawan, with India starring down at the end of the barrel at 4/27. Rocked by those early setbacks India was never able to recover as they were bundled out for 118 on the board.
Chasing the paltry total, Australia too had a bad start as they lost Warner and Aaron Finch early and the bowlers built pressure on the Aussies early in the match. However, the hosts failed to make further inroads and failed to consolidate on the pressure, as Moises Henriques (62*) and Travis Head (48*) sealed an eight-wicket win.
With the series level at 1-1, the stage was all set for the third and final T20I at Hyderabad. However, the wet outfield led the match officials to abandon the match, and the teams sharing the spoils. This was the second time the Men in Blue shared a T20 series with Australia, with the first occasion being the away series in Australia 2011-12.
India now face the Kiwis in three-match ODI and T20I series starting on October 22. Shikhar Dhawan, Shardul Thakur and Dinesh Karthik will make their way back into the ODI squad. The spin trio of Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav and Axar Patel were also retained, ahead of India's frontline Test spinners, R Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja. KL Rahul, Umesh Yadav and Mohammed Shami have been dropped from the squad.
Elsewhere, Bangladesh's tour of South Africa isn't going too well for the visitors. Following the test series whitewash, the Proteas registered a thumping 10-wicket victory over the visitors. Winning the toss Bangladesh opted to bat first and posted a respectable total of 278/7. Mushfiqur Rahim scored his fifth one-day century off 116 balls with 11 fours and two sixes, while Kagiso Rabada spearheaded South Africa's bowling attack, picking four wickets for 43.
Chasing a formidable 279, the Proteas crushed the target with relative ease. Quinton de Kock (168*)and Hashim Amla (110*) shared a record partnership as South Africa cruised to victory. The duo's 282-run partnership was the joint sixth highest of all time and the biggest partnership for Proteas for any wicket. The previous best South African partnership for any wicket was 256 by JP Duminy and David Miller against Zimbabwe at the 2015 World Cup. The second ODI in the three-match series takes place at Boland Park later this week.
In the Middle East, Sri Lanka and Pakistan are now battling it out for ODI honours in the five-match ODI series. Pakistan drew first blood as they beat Sri Lanka by 83 runs in the first ODI in Dubai. Babar Azam (103) scored a brilliant hundred while Shoaib Malik scored quick fire 81-run knock as Pakistan reached 292/6. In reply, Sri Lanka could only manage 209/8 with Lahiru Thirimanne top-scoring with 53. The two teams now lock horns in the second ODI which is currently underway at the Sheikh Zayed Stadium in Abu Dhabi.


Comments are closed.